- Book of Yum - http://www.bookofyum.com/blog -

Gluten-free Soy-free Vegan Japanese Quinoa Salad Recipe

Posted By yum On July 25, 2010 @ 6:59 pm In Breastfeeding for Allergic Baby Recipe, Dairy Free, Egg Free, Japanese, Nut Free, Quinoa, Rice Free, Salad, Salad Dressing, Soy Free, Vegan | 5 Comments

[1]
The other day I was thumbing through one of my favorite cooking magazines and came across a recipe for a cold quinoa summer salad, with tomatoes and italian herbs. It sounded lovely, but somehow I just wasn’t in the mood for an Italian quinoa salad. Instead, I was in the mood for something distinctly more… Japanese. It may have been because earlier that day I’d gone with my Father to a Japanese restaurant and watched him eat a tasty bento while I sipped on a Jamba Juice (all fruit, no dairy, no soy, bless them). But whatever the reason, I wanted sesame in the saltiest, most umami [2] way. Thank goodness Baby Yum seems to be doing well with the inclusion of sesame in my diet. I’d excluded it for many long months because sesame is a rising allergen, recognized as one of the top eleven allergens in Canada and other countries where it is a common ingredient. I thought about cold Japanese noodle dishes, popular in the summer, with their sesame infused soy and vinegar sauces. It was a day earmarked for quinoa, and so I thought perhaps I could make a sesame quinoa salad that broke from the Italian mold and ran straight for the island of Japan, fusion style. This lovely and light salad was the result. I think it could give any noodle salad a run for its money, with a good amount more protein and whole grain goodness. I added avocado in a nod to my favorite vegan fusion roll- the avocado roll. Ah, how I love you with rice, avocado. But it turns out, I also love you with quinoa.

For more creative “Japanese” takes on quinoa, try my Quinoa Sushi Roll Recipe [3]

Still looking for the perfect, gluten and soy-free quinoa recipe? Try these.
Quinoa Tahini Mint Salad Recipe [4]
Japanese Inspired Quinoa Recipe [5]
Crockpot Quinoa Recipe [6]
Black Bean and Quinoa Chili Recipe [7]
Mediterranean Quinoa Salad [8]
Red Quinoa with Butternut Squash Recipe [9]
Lime Quinoa Salad with Mint Recipe [10]
Quinoa with Summer Vegetables Recipe [11]
Quinoa Stuffed Portobello Mushroom Recipe [12]
Quinoa Salad with Yellow Tomatoes Recipe [13]
Quinoa Black Bean and Butternut Squash Recipe [14]
Lemon Quinoa Salad Recipe [15]
Big Bowl of Quinoa Recipe [16]
Italian Quinoa Salad Recipe [17]
San Antonio Quinoa Recipe [18]
Quinoa Parsley and Pepper Salad Recipe [19]

*I use Coconut Secret [20] for my soy-free gluten-free un-soy sauce.

Quinoa Avocado Sesame Chirashi Salad Recipe
Main Course [21]  Alternative Grains [22]  Japanese [23]  
Ingredients
Serving of Cooked Quinoa
1/2 fresh avocado, cubed
Black sesame seeds

Dressing:
1/2 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp. agave or simple syrup
2 tsp. coconut amino un-soy sauce (or, if soy is ok, a wheat free tamari like San-J Low sodium)
2 tbsp. vinegar (you can use rice, red or white wine)
3 tbsp. canola oil

Directions
Put your cooked quinoa in a bowl and top with avocado to taste. Sprinkle with sesame seeds.

Whisk dressing ingredients together in a small bowl.

Drizzle dressing over quinoa. Enjoy!


Article printed from Book of Yum: http://www.bookofyum.com/blog

URL to article: http://www.bookofyum.com/blog/gluten-free-soy-free-and-rice-free-vegan-japanese-quinoa-salad-recipe-5051.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.bookofyum.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/quinoachirashi2.jpg

[2] umami: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Umami

[3] Quinoa Sushi Roll Recipe: http://www.bookofyum.com/blog/soy-free-and-rice-free-challenge-gluten-free-quinoa-vegetarian-sushi-recipe-with-no-soy-sauce-4553.html

[4] Quinoa Tahini Mint Salad Recipe: http://www.bookofyum.com/blog/gluten-free-menu-vegan-quinoa-soy-free-dairy-free-tahini-mint-salad-recipe-4129.html

[5] Japanese Inspired Quinoa Recipe: http://chocolateandzucchini.com/archives/2009/01/japanese_inspired_quinoa.php

[6] Crockpot Quinoa Recipe: http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/07/crockpot-quinoa-casserole.html

[7] Black Bean and Quinoa Chili Recipe: http://fatfreevegan.com/blog/2010/03/29/black-bean-and-quinoa-chili/

[8] Mediterranean Quinoa Salad: http://www.adventuresofaglutenfreemom.com/2010/01/mediterranean-quinoa-salad/

[9] Red Quinoa with Butternut Squash Recipe: http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2010/01/red-quinoa-with-butternet-squash.html

[10] Lime Quinoa Salad with Mint Recipe: http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2008/08/lime-quinoa-salad-with-mint.html

[11] Quinoa with Summer Vegetables Recipe: http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2009/06/quinoa-with-summer-vegetables.html

[12] Quinoa Stuffed Portobello Mushroom Recipe: http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2009/04/quinoa-stuffed-portobello-mushrooms.html

[13] Quinoa Salad with Yellow Tomatoes Recipe: http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2009/07/quinoa-salad-with-yellow-tomatoes.html

[14] Quinoa Black Bean and Butternut Squash Recipe: http://www.simplysugarandglutenfree.com/quinoa-black-bean-and-butternut-squash-salad/

[15] Lemon Quinoa Salad Recipe: http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/001493.html

[16] Big Bowl of Quinoa Recipe: http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/001564.html

[17] Italian Quinoa Salad Recipe: http://fatfreevegan.com/blog/2010/07/18/italian-style-quinoa-salad/

[18] San Antonio Quinoa Recipe: http://fatfreevegan.com/blog/2010/05/06/san-antonio-quinoa

[19] Quinoa Parsley and Pepper Salad Recipe: http://justbento.com/handbook/recipe-collection-mains/quinoa-parsley-and-pepper-salad

[20] Coconut Secret: http://www.coconutsecret.com/aminos2.html

[21] Main Course: http://www.bookofyum.com/recipes_v2/listrecipes.php#Main Course

[22] Alternative Grains: http://www.bookofyum.com/recipes_v2/listrecipes.php#Alternative Grains

[23] Japanese: http://www.bookofyum.com/recipes_v2/listrecipes.php#Japanese

Copyright © 2010 Book of Yum. All rights reserved.